Skip to content
Raspberry Pi Foundation HomeEuropean Space Agency Home

Eligibility criteria

Mission Space Lab is open to teams of 2–6 young people aged 19 or younger from an ESA Member State (see full list below), Canada, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, Slovenia, or Malta.

Teams must be supervised by a mentor who will submit their program. One mentor may supervise a maximum of five teams per year.

Mission Space Lab

To take part in Mission Space Lab, participants must be:

  • Aged 19 or younger at the time of submission
  • Working in teams of 2-6 young people
  • Supervised by a mentor such as a teacher, parent, Scout leader, or Code Club or CoderDojo leader, who will need to register for a Mission Hub
  • Enrolled full-time in a primary or secondary school or certified home school in an ESA Member State, Canada, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, Slovenia, or Malta
  • Part of a team in which at least 50% of team members are citizens of an ESA Member State, Canada, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, Slovenia, or Malta

If one or more of a mentor’s teams reach Phase 2 of the challenge, the mentor will receive one Astro Pi kit.

There is no limit to the number of teams a school or club can enter but each team can only submit one entry, and each participant can only be part of one team.

ESA Member States

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.

Further to the 22 Member States, also Canada, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Malta based on their agreements with ESA qualify to fully participate in the programmes of the ESA Education Office.


Get the latest updates on Astro Pi direct to your inbox with our newsletter.